The ads promise an MBA for less than a used car. The cheapest online MBA programs that employers still recognise cost about $11,000 to $18,000 for the whole degree at AACSB-accredited state universities. In our check of 16 programs, Texas A&M International, UT Permian Basin and Louisiana at Lafayette came in lowest.

Every price below comes from the school’s own website, checked on 31 October 2026. Every school’s accreditation was checked on AACSB’s own directory or in the school’s own AACSB statement. The links are in the table, so you can check them again before you apply.

What We Found

Across 16 online MBA programs at AACSB-accredited schools, the cheapest whole-degree price was $11,010, a rate open only to Texas residents, while the median was $17,318 and the dearest cost $37,488, a $26,478 spread.

Ten of the 16 publish a price under $20,000. Four come in under $15,000, all of them public universities in Texas, Louisiana and Indiana. The three most expensive, at $31,680 to $37,488, include two that build fees or books into the price, so part of that gap is what the number covers.

The cheapest price comes with a condition. Texas A&M International’s $11,010 applies to Texas residents. For everyone else its page lists $1,030 per credit, which our arithmetic puts at $30,900 for the same 30 credits. Read the residency line before you read the headline.

What Are the Cheapest Online MBA Programs?

The cheapest online MBA programs at AACSB-accredited schools in our sample are Texas A&M International University at $11,010 for Texas residents, UT Permian Basin at $11,729.70, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette at $12,800 and the University of Southern Indiana at $13,950. Each publishes that figure for the whole degree on its own site.

Those four have more in common than price. All are public universities and all run 30 to 33 credit programs. Three of the four say on their pages that standard applicants need no GMAT. Louisiana at Lafayette’s tuition page does not mention a test either way.

UT Permian Basin’s figure carries one condition. The $11,729.70 covers 30 credits for students with an undergraduate business degree. Everyone else needs 36 credits, which the program page puts at $14,075.64, with a note that additional fees may be added.

Louisiana at Lafayette has the cleanest price in the group. Its online tuition page gives a $12,800 package for 33 credits at $387.88 a credit, and says online students pay the same rate wherever they live. It also lists a $50 per credit distance learning fee without saying whether the package already includes it. Ask before you enrol.

The 16 Programs and Their Published Prices

The table runs from lowest to highest. The published total is the figure the school gives for the whole degree, or its per-credit rate times the required credits where that is how it publishes. Some totals include fees and some do not, and the fourth column says which.

School Credits Published total What the total covers GMAT Source
Texas A&M International University 30 $11,010 Tuition and fees, Texas residents ($1,030 per credit out of state) Not required TAMIU
UT Permian Basin 30 to 36 $11,729.70 Tuition; fees may be added; 36 credits cost $14,075.64 Not required for regular admission UTPB
University of Louisiana at Lafayette 33 $12,800 Package price, $387.88 per credit, any residency Not stated UL Lafayette
University of Southern Indiana 30 $13,950 Total tuition Not required USI
West Texas A&M University 31 $15,500 In-state tuition and fees Waiver available WTAMU
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi 30 $15,868 Tuition, same in state and out of state Can be waived on GPA TAMUCC
Lamar University 30 $17,211 Tuition with university fees included Waived with GPA 2.5 or higher Lamar
Arkansas State University 33 $17,292 Tuition with all fees included, $524 per credit, same for all US residents Not stated A-State
University of Southern Mississippi 30 $17,343.60 $578.12 per credit x 30, before online delivery and course fees Not stated (no GRE) Southern Miss
Missouri State University 34 $19,600 Tuition ($14,076) plus student service and course fees Not stated Missouri State
University of Texas at Arlington 36 $21,612 Texas resident cost, before textbooks Not stated UTA
The University of Tulsa (private) 30 $25,500 Total tuition, $850 per credit Not required Tulsa
University of Illinois (Gies iMBA) 72 $27,288 Tuition and fees, $379 per credit, 2026-27 Not required Gies
Texas Wesleyan University (private) 30 $31,680 Tuition and standard fees, 2025-26 Not stated Texas Wesleyan
University of New Mexico 43 $34,961.58 $813.06 per credit plus student fees, 2025-26 Not stated UNM
University of Missouri-St. Louis 33 $37,488 All tuition, fees and books, any residency Not stated UMSL

The median, $17,318, sits between Arkansas State at $17,292 for 33 credits and Southern Miss at $17,343.60 for 30. Half the sample costs less than that. The top six include both private universities in the sample and the University of Illinois, the best-known name on the list.

The spread between the cheapest and the dearest is $26,478. That is more than the whole published price of 12 of the 16 programs.

An HR director talking a regional manager through employer funding for an online MBA

Why Is AACSB Accreditation the Filter?

AACSB accreditation is the business school standard that employers and other universities recognise, and you can check it in minutes. AACSB’s directory lists 1,101 accredited schools worldwide, 558 of them in the United States. A cheap MBA from outside that list may be legitimate, but you will spend interviews explaining it.

It sits on top of the university’s own accreditation, which is the first check. The US Department of Education recognises the agencies that accredit colleges and points to a database of accredited institutions. It also warns about diploma mills, which it describes as schools “more interested in taking your money than providing you with a quality education”.

AACSB is a second, narrower filter. It looks at the business school itself, so it tells you something about the MBA rather than the university as a whole. The Gies iMBA FAQ, for example, requires that transfer coursework come from an AACSB-accredited institution, which shows how schools treat the badge among themselves.

We left out programs whose business school is accredited by ACBSP, a different business accreditor, rather than AACSB. Such a program may suit some students well. It falls outside a list built on the AACSB filter.

To check a school, search its name in the AACSB directory and open its entry. The listing names the business school and the type of accreditation, Business or Business and Accounting. Arkansas State’s entry, for instance, says its MBA program was accredited in 1985. If the program page and the directory disagree, ask admissions which is right before you pay a deposit.

Our guide to online universities for working adults walks through the institution-level check in more detail, including the CHEA database and what a diploma mill looks like from the outside.

What Fees for Online MBA Programs Get Left Out?

The fees for online MBA programs that most often sit outside the headline are per-credit online or distance fees, course fees, student service fees and books. In our sample they run from course fees of $20 a credit hour at Southern Miss to $5,460 of student service and course fees on Missouri State’s estimate.

Missouri State shows the gap most clearly. Its estimate puts tuition for the 34 credits at $14,076, then adds $3,250 of student service fees and a $2,210 course fee. The page’s headline figure is $19,600, though its own line items add up to $19,536. We used the headline.

Southern Miss is the opposite case. Its program page gives $578.12 a credit for 30 hours, which our arithmetic puts at $17,343.60. Its general pricing page says prices exclude the Online Delivery Fee and that course fees of $20 to $150 per credit hour may apply. The same page lists a general part-time graduate rate of $630.12 an hour, so confirm which rate applies to the MBA.

Some schools fold everything in. Lamar’s $17,211 includes university fees. At its $478 a credit, tuition for 30 credits is $14,340, so the fees come to about $2,871 by our arithmetic. UMSL’s $37,488 includes “all tuition, fees, books, and professional development experiences”, the most complete price in the sample.

Gies prices its iMBA at $379 a credit for tuition and fees together, which comes to $27,288 for 72 credits in 2026-27. Those 72 credits look high next to everyone else’s 30 to 43. Compare totals, because schools divide their degrees into credits differently.

Where You Live Can Nearly Triple the Price

Residency was the largest single swing we found. Texas A&M International charges Texas residents $367 a credit and everyone else $1,030, so the same 30-credit MBA runs from $11,010 to $30,900 by our arithmetic. At the higher figure it would rank fourth most expensive of the 16.

Missouri State lists $33,600 for out-of-state students, but its online column shows $19,600, the same as in state. Read the column for the format you will take.

Several schools remove the problem entirely. Arkansas State says it charges all US residents the same tuition. Louisiana at Lafayette, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi and UNM say they charge one rate whatever your address. Southern Miss waives out-of-state tuition for fully online programs. UMSL describes its price as all-inclusive regardless of residency.

Two Texas schools in the sample, UTA and West Texas A&M, publish only the resident figure. If you live elsewhere, email admissions for the non-resident total before you put either on a shortlist.

Does the GMAT Still Matter for a Cheap Online MBA?

For half the programs in our sample, no. Eight of the 16 programs say on their own pages that the GMAT is not required or can be waived, usually on undergraduate grades. The other eight do not mention the test on the pages we checked, so put that question to admissions in your first email.

The waivers differ. Lamar waives the test with an undergraduate GPA of 2.5 or higher. Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi waives it with a 3.0 GPA in your last 60 hours. West Texas A&M lists a 3.0 GPA, a graduate degree or ten years of progressive professional experience among its routes.

Skipping the test saves weekends as well as the exam fee. Three of the four cheapest programs say a standard applicant needs no score at all.

A university business building, the kind of campus whose name an online MBA carries

How to Work Out Your Own Total

Start with the credits you will take. UT Permian Basin, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi and West Texas A&M all add courses for applicants without a business background. At TAMUCC’s $1,587 a course, four extra courses would add $6,348 by our arithmetic.

Then multiply. Take the required credits times the per-credit rate, add every per-credit fee times the same credits, then add any flat fees per term. Put the result next to the school’s headline figure. If the two differ by more than a few hundred dollars, ask which one the bursar will bill.

Add the price of time. A 30-credit program finished in 12 months is a year of evenings and weekends, and the hour you give to study usually comes out of training or sleep first. Our morning exercise routine is built for people who need the workout done before work starts.

Protect sleep before the first exam week. Our look at whether women need more sleep than men is worth reading for anyone planning a year of late nights around a job and a family.

Much of an online MBA is study you schedule yourself. An AI assistant can quiz you on a finance chapter at eleven at night, and our guide to the best chatgpt alternative tools covers the ones worth trying.

Self-employed readers pay from the business. How the business is set up shapes how that bill is handled, and our comparison of sole proprietorship vs llc covers the two structures most owners choose between. Ask your accountant before the first term.

Employer Money and the $5,250 Limit

Ask HR before you compare prices. Under Section 127, the IRS lets an employer pay up to $5,250 a calendar year of educational assistance tax free. The plan must be written, the courses do not have to be work-related, and graduate courses qualify. The limit will be adjusted for the cost of living for tax years beginning after 2026.

A 12-month program that starts in the autumn crosses two calendar years. Two years of the allowance, $10,500, falls inside it, which is close to the whole price of the cheapest program in our sample. Get the approval in writing, with the course and the amount, before the term starts.

Avoid funding the rest by pausing retirement saving. Our guides to roth vs traditional ira and ira vs 401k cover the accounts that suffer when tuition comes out of the same paycheck.

Choosing Among the Cheapest Online MBA Programs

Price is the last filter, after accreditation and fit. Among the cheapest online MBA programs here, the cheapest one for you depends on where you live, what degree you already hold and whether your employer pays part of the bill.

Watch the pull of the famous name. Our summary of the art of thinking clearly covers the shortcuts that make a $27,000 brand feel safer than a $13,000 program carrying the same AACSB accreditation. Sometimes the brand is worth it. Decide that on purpose.

Then look at what the core courses teach. A good one will take you from drafting a business mission statement to the leadership theories behind why teams follow some managers and tune out others. That includes transactional leadership, the reward and correction model many managers use without naming it.

Plenty of operators also teach themselves from business history and biographies, and our list of elon musk books is one place readers start. The degree earns its price when you need the credential on top of the knowledge.

If you are still deciding whether to do one at all, our pieces on whether an online MBA is worth it, whether an MBA is worth it in general and whether an executive MBA is worth it cover the career maths for each route.

How We Did This

We compiled 16 online MBA programs at US business schools accredited by AACSB, checked on 31 October 2026. We started from schools that appear on public affordability lists, added better-known names for comparison, and kept only programs whose whole-degree price we could fetch from the school’s own website. Accreditation was confirmed on AACSB’s directory or in the school’s own AACSB statement. Where a school publishes only a per-credit rate, we multiplied it by the required credits. We excluded pages quoting 2022-23 or 2023-24 rates, programs with no stated credit total, and programs at business schools accredited by ACBSP rather than AACSB. Prices change every academic year. Most pages state no year, and those that do cite 2025-26 or 2026-27. The full dataset is available on request.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cheapest AACSB-accredited online MBA?

In our sample of 16, Texas A&M International University publishes the lowest whole-degree price, $11,010 for Texas residents. For students outside Texas, UT Permian Basin at $11,729.70 and Louisiana at Lafayette at $12,800 are the lowest published prices, though UTPB does not say on its page whether its rate differs by residency.

Do employers recognise cheap online MBAs?

Employers check accreditation, and the price does not appear on your CV. Every program in our table sits at a business school listed in AACSB’s directory or carrying its own AACSB statement. Check the school yourself, and confirm with HR that it qualifies for any tuition plan before you apply.

How much are fees for online MBA programs?

It varies by school. Southern Miss says course fees of $20 to $150 per credit hour may apply on top of tuition, Louisiana at Lafayette lists a $50 per credit distance learning fee, and Missouri State’s estimate carries $5,460 of student service and course fees. Lamar, Arkansas State, Gies and UMSL fold fees into their headline price.

Shortlist three AACSB-accredited programs, work out each total with your own credits, residency and fees, and take the lowest figure to HR before you apply.

Latest From The Executive Insight